Uncategorized

Emergency Tire

This past weekend, as I was preparing for the Kickstarter, I got a frantic call from my wife. She was driving out to see some friends when one of the rear tires started deflating – rapidly. She made it home and we were able to replace it with the spare without any issue.

I made my way to the Midas Total Car Care near me where I was quickly met by one of the employees. He looked over the tire and led me inside the waiting area. Mere minutes later I was brought back to show the tire had been properly patched. No charge.

It was a great experience. Everything about this shouldn’t have been. It should have been a horrible experience. That’s what every other experience with car care has been. Yet, here I was, after less than ten minutes, on the road again with a fully fixed car – and more than that? For free. I was expecting to take a massive financial hit from this, because that what all experiences with car care have been, but not only was it less painful than ripping a bandaid off, it was for free.

After this, you know that particular Midas Total Car Care is going to be my go-to place for any maintenance moving forward. It was a great experience, one that I’ll carry with me for whenever anyone asks “where should I go for car maintenance?” They gave me phenomenal customer support and have not only earned a repeat customer, but an evangelist for them moving forward.

Over and over again when looking into making a new business, what I hear is that if you take care of your customers, they’ll take care of you. It is absolutely true. A great example is Stonemaier Games. Instead of going into details, I’ll let this one Reddit post do the talking:

Hey guys, Just wanted to let you know of an awesome experience I had yesterday with Jamey Stegmaier.

I posted in a viticulture facebook group about how my local shipping company had messed up my order for the Viticulture/Tuscany expansion Moor Visitors. They had sent it to the wrong state and was now set to arrive a week later at earliest. Whilst not the biggest deal, I was disappointed that the game i had organised for this weekend with a full 6 players (a rarity indeed) wasnt going to be occuring due to the reason it was being held. Within a few minutes Jamey had responded asking if he could help. I mentioned being from Australia it would be tough and i really appreciated even the gesture. He responded again stating he would contact another distributor and would have one expressed out to me next day. He took my details and responded to me and was just really awesome. I mean i know they aren’t a HUGE company or anything but this piece of kindness has made me want too and will buy every game of theirs from the first til last.

Thanks again to the company and it really helped me also to receive that kindness due to my current anxiety/depression issues. Was such a mood lifter.

sorry for getting sappy.

That’s the business Jamey Stegmaier and Stonemaier Games are in: not board games, but making these connections. By doing that, it ensures not just dedicated customers, but, like me with Midas, an evangelist.

The big lesson here is to preempt your customers’ needs when you can and when you can’t – listen. Just like in the case of the story from Reddit, what could have been a disaster became an “awesome experience.”

The Screech Dragon kickstarter campaign for Loaded Dice has launched! Thanks, as always, for reading.

Leave a Reply

